Beta Phi Mu, Psi Chapter

International Honor Society for Library and Information Science

Beta Phi Mu (BPM), the library and information studies honor society, was founded in August 1948 by a group of leading librarians and library educators to recognize and encourage scholastic achievement among library and information studies students.

Our name comes from the initials of the Greek words Bibliothekarios philax mathesis, meaning “librarians are the guardians of knowledge.”

Eligibility for membership in Beta Phi Mu is by invitation of the faculty from institutions where the American Library Association, or other recognized accrediting agency approved by the Beta Phi Mu Executive Board, has accredited or recognized a professional degree program.

The Psi Chapter of BPM is the Missouri chapter, and inductees from any chapter are invited to participate in our events. The Psi Chapter Executive Board consists of the following members:

  • Debbie Luchenbill, president
  • Felicity Dykas, secretary/treasurer
  • Rachel Brekhus, member at large
  • Heather Moulaison Sandy, chapter advisor

Please contact Dr. Heather Moulaison Sandy ( for more information about chapter activities or to request to join our email distribution list. You can also visit the list’s archives or request to join.

Today there are 36 active chapters of BPM and more than 30,000 individuals have become members. For more information about national BPM events, scholarships, and awards, visit the BPM website: